What happens when an employee leaves the company?


After an employee leaves your company, it's important to offboard them within your Brex account to keep your spend limits, approval flows, or other spend management procedures running smoothly.

To get started with the offboarding process, an account admin or card admin can follow the steps below.

Address recurring charges

If the employee(s) you’re offboarding had any cards with recurring spend, you should contact your vendors prior to canceling that user’s cards to set up an alternate form of payment.

Update their approval chains

Upon deactivating any number of users that are reviewers in approval chains, you’ll see an alert at the top of your Budgets and Limits page that reads “Due to recent employee deactivations you need to complete user offboarding actions”. The "Offboard users" button in the alert banner will lead admins to the Spend limit Offboarding flow. In this flow, you can easily transfer spend limit-related responsibilities to active and relevant users. Starting from December 2023, this process will also support approval chains and card management for added convenience. Account admins and card admins will also receive an email prompting them to offboard the deactivated employees.

Note: You won’t receive these alerts if your company has a rule for Direct manager to review.

Close their spend limits

Upon deactivating any number of users, we will automatically close their stipends and travel spend limits where they’re the sole member. However, you will have to go and close spend limits for all other types.

Brex Essentials Brex Essentials

Step 1: In Spend limits, click on the spend limit you want to adjust. Go to Managed by > View all members and owners > Edit members.

Step 2: In the Spend limit owners and Spend limit members section, you can add an employee by typing their name under the correct column. Remove an employee by pressing the x button next to their name.

Step 3: Click Continue and review the spend limit.

Step 4: Finalize the changes by clicking Update spend limit.

Note: Any individual or stipend spend limits of which the offboarded user was a spend limit member will automatically close. If they were the owner, the spend limit won’t close.

Brex Plus Brex Plus

Step 1: From the banner in Budgets and Limits, click Assign new reviewers. Or, from the email, click Assign new reviewers (you’ll be asked to sign into your dashboard if you haven’t already).

Step 2: You’ll see a summary of the deactivated employees to be offboarded. If all looks well, click Get started.

Step 3: You’ll see a summary of an employee with complex permissions. Use the dropdown menus to assign one or more reviewers to replace the offboarded employee in all of the following sections:

  • Card expenses

  • Reimbursements

Step 4: Click Reassign approvers.

Step 5: Continue on to repeat reassignment for any other users with complex permissions. Once complete, click Done.

Note: Any individual or stipend spend limits of which the offboarded user was a spend limit member will automatically close. If they were the owner, the spend limit won’t close.

Was this article helpful?

|

Still can't find what you're looking for?

Chat with us